

Road Map at www.co.walworth.wi.us

## Municipalities Authorizing ATV or UTV Use

City of: Delavan, Elkhorn, Whitewater Town of: Bloomfield, Darien, Delavan, East Troy, Geneva, LaFayette, LaGrange, Lyons, Richmond, Sugar Creek, Troy, Sharon, Walworth, Whitewater. Village of Bloomfield, Darien, Sharon. Village of Walworth (UTV Only). KNOW THEIR LOCAL ORDINANCES



County roads will have appropriate signage identifying authorized ATV/UTV Routes

## Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources—ATV Course Requirements

Anyone who operates an ATV on public riding areas—trails, frozen waters, routes, permitted county and/or forested lands—who is at least 12 years of age and was born on or after Jan. I, 1988, must complete a safety certification course. ATV operators must carry their safety certification card and display it to law enforcement when requested.

For further information or to register go to: https:// dnr.wisconsin.gov/Education/OutdoorSkills/ SafetyEducation

## Summary of the County Ordinance

When a Municipality passes an ordinance authorizing the use of ATV/UTVs on local roads, County and State roads with posted speed limits up to 35 mph are authorized per state statute only if appropriately signed. The Walworth County ordinance allows Municipalities to include County roads within their boundaries regardless of the posted speed limit, as long as the road is appropriately signed in coordination with the County Highway Commissioner.



## ATV/UTV Road Map



For Additional Information Contact the Public Works Department (262) 741-3114

